• Jim Townsend

Lady Raider Basketball Preview 2019-2020

The Portland High School girls basketball team will kick off their season on Tuesday night when they host Laingsburg.

Last year was one of the program’s most successful seasons in recent years. They finished 15-6 overall, and second in the CAAC White division.

Gone from last year’s team are four seniors who saw significant playing time, including Lesley Barker, Jolee Pung, Cally Goodman and Hannah Gruber. This year’s team will also be without the talents of returning junior Grace Sines who is out with a knee injury.

Despite the significant losses to graduation, the Lady Raiders have a great deal of returning varsity experience in juniors Ava Gruber and Josie Goodman, along with returning sophomores Ashley Bower and Breckyn Werner.

The Lady Raiders will also take the court this year with some promising newcomer in juniors Hannah Schrauben and Brooke Seal, along with sophomores Shaylyn Dzeiwiatkowski, Ava Guilford, Alivia Densmore and Maria Vila Dosta.

As for his expectations for the new season, Coach Jason Haid said, “Our expectations are that we play harder than our opponents and compete in every game.”

2019-2020 Schedule

Tuesday 12/03/19 7:00 PM Home vs Laingsburg

Friday 12/06/19 7:00 PM Away vs Williamston

Monday 12/09/19 7:30 PM Away vs Fowler

Friday 12/13/19 6:00 PM Away vs Ionia

Tuesday 12/17/19 7:00 PM Away vs Lansing Eastern

Friday 12/20/19 6:00 PM Home vs J.W. Sexton

Tuesday 01/07/20 7:00 PM Away vs St. Johns

Friday 01/10/20 6:00 PM Away vs Lansing Catholic

Tuesday 01/14/20 7:00 PM Home vs Haslett

Friday 01/17/20 6:00 PM Home vs Eaton Rapids

Tuesday 01/21/20 7:00 PM Home vs Olivet

Friday 01/24/20 6:00 PM Away vs Charlotte Senior

Tuesday 01/28/20 7:00 PM Home vs Lakewood

Friday 01/31/20 6:00 PM Home vs Ionia

Tuesday 02/04/20 7:00 PM Home vs New Lothrop

Friday 02/07/20 6:00 PM Away vs J.W. Sexton

Tuesday 02/11/20 7:00 PM Away vs Grand Ledge

Friday 02/14/20 6:00 PM Home vs Lansing Catholic

Friday 02/21/20 6:00 PM Away vs Eaton Rapids

Friday 02/28/20 6:00 PM Home vs Charlotte

Meds Cafe Image 02 18 2021.PNG
TCF Ad Image 03 22 21.PNG

The Portland Beacon is owned and operated by Townsend Small Business Solutions LLC

P.O. Box 331, Portland, MI 48875

Copyright © 2021 All Rights Reserved