• Jim Townsend

PHS Softball Invites Supporters to April 13th Dedication

The Portland Highs School softball program will soon be unveiling some impressive improvements to their complex. The improvements will be dedicated on Saturday, April 13th when the Lady Raiders host the Portland Invitational starting at 10:00 AM.

One of the highlights of the improvements will be 32 new stadium style seats. With 16 on each side of home plate, these seats will be anchored to the concrete and offer spectators a sturdy seat with a front view of the game. The seats themselves will be cardinal red in color, with black bases. PHS Softball Varsity Head Coach Jack Anderson said the seats, “will be helpful for fans who may have difficulty with bleachers.”

Other improvements to the public seating area of the complex include expanded concrete pads around the infield, a new sound system, and paneling on the inside of the press box.

Funding for the seats was started with a generous $2,000 donation from a local businessman followed by another $1,000 from PFCU. That left approximately $3,500 more needed to finance the rest of the improvements. Anderson sent a letter to former PHS All-State players, and he described their response was “tremendous.”

The All-State players who donated funds will be recognized with a personalized name plate on a seat with their name, the year(s) they were All-State, as well as their playing position. S & K Trophy is donating the name plates and the labor to the effort.

The April 13th dedication will also allow the program to display the improvements to the playing area. These other improvements were funded by the districts recent bond extension and include a new surface on the infield, warning track, bull pens and batting cages.

The program welcomes all to come and enjoy the dedication on April 13th.

PHS Varsity Softball 2019 Schedule

Tuesday Apr. 09 Pewamo-Westphalia HS 4:00PM

Thursday Apr. 11 Haslett High School Portland High School 4:00PM

Saturday Apr. 13 Portland Invitational Portland High School 10:00AM

Tuesday Apr. 16 * @ Lansing Catholic High School 4:00PM

Thursday Apr. 18 Williamston High School 4:00PM

Saturday Apr. 20 @ Chris Brian Invitational 9:30AM

Tuesday Apr. 23 * @ Ionia High School 4:00PM

Thursday Apr. 25 @ Fowlerville High School 4:00PM

Tuesday Apr. 30 * Eaton Rapids High 4:00PM

Saturday May. 04 Spring Sports Carnival Portland High School 10:00AM

Tuesday May. 07 * @ Lansing Sexton H.S. 4:00PM

Saturday May. 11 @ Ann Arbor Skyline Invitational 9:00AM

Tuesday May. 14 * Charlotte HS Portland High School 4:00PM

Saturday May. 18 @ Manistee Invitational 9:00AM

Saturday May. 25 Suzanne J. Buche Tournament Portland High School 10:00AM

Tuesday May. 28 @ Districts @ Ionia TBA

Wednesday May. 29 Grand Ledge High School 4:00PM

* denotes conference event.

meds cafe ad image october 2020.jpg
ResourceMFG SIDE PANEL.PNG
Craft Chiro Ad Image.PNG

The Portland Beacon is owned and operated by Townsend Small Business Solutions LLC

P.O. Box 331, Portland, MI 48875

Copyright © 2020 All Rights Reserved